Bookworms: The Memory Thieves (14) by Robertson (Interview)

| December 12, 2014

TheMemoryThieves

Combining old school noir with the best of magical realism, J.T. Robertson gives his readers a tight, gritty crime novella about a man on the edge willing to do anything to get free.

Bookworms: Call for Writers!

| December 11, 2014

ATTENTION BOOK LOVERS! Is your nose constantly stuck in a book? Are you always telling people about the latest book you’ve read and why it was AWESOME or why they should NEVER read it? Then we’ve got just the thing for you! NerdSpan.com is looking for dedicated book reviewers! We call them bookworms here on […]

Bookworms: Showrunners (2014) Review + Interview

| October 31, 2014

Showrunners by Tara Bennett

Showrunners: The Art of Running a TV Show is the companion book to the documentary film of the same name. Written by Tara Bennett, it allows readers to go further into the showrunner’s lives as they head the TV shows that we all know and some of us love. Read on for my review and an interview with the film’s director, Des Doyle!

Bookworms: Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH (’71) by O’Brien

| September 23, 2014

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIHM

Inspired by the work of a real scientist, Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIHM is a fantastical piece of juvenile fiction about a little mouse and her connection to a society of highly intelligent rats.

Bookworms: Shoeless Joe (1982) by W.P. Kinsella

| September 16, 2014

Shoeless Joe

Shoeless Joe is the magical story of an Iowa farmer, who based on ghostly direction, builds a baseball diamond in the middle of his cornfield.

Bookworms: Mistborn (2006) by Brandon Sanderson

| September 9, 2014

Mistborn_BrandonSanderson

if you haven’t heard of Brandon Sanderson, or you have but haven’t picked up any of his books, do yourself a favor and start with Mistborn. It’s the beginning of a trilogy (with another trilogy following it), the magic system is fantastically unique, and his writing will keep you turning the pages. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Bookworms: Depth Charging Ice Planet Goth (2013) by A. Bergen

| September 4, 2014

Depth Charging Ice Planet Goth

Depth Charging Ice Planet Goth walks a fine line between a traditional coming-of-age story and surreal fantasy. Bergen draws in the reader with a protagonist that fosters compassion and identification, then flips the switch and drags the reader into a swirling nest of emotions. The mystery behind Mina’s life emerges, adding another layer to the story. As we learn more about Mina and her emotional health, the book becomes harder and harder to put down.

Bookworms: The Jedi Doth Return (2014) by Ian Doescher

| August 19, 2014

Jedi Doth Return

Brilliant iambic pentameter marks the way of the Star Wars Shakespeare saga. To Star Wars fanatics the story is familiar, to Shakespeare lovers the phrasing is familiar, but to both there is a newness and a richness that only Doescher can provide.

Bookworms: The Name of the Star (2012) by Maureen Johnson

| August 12, 2014

NameOfTheStar_MaureenJohnson

Maureen Johnson’s The Name of the Star is a YA thriller sure to please any fan of horror and the paranormal, adults included. Readers with an appreciation for Jack the Ripper (the lore, not his handiwork) will be even more pleased, as Johnson draws on London’s most notorious serial killer for inspiration.

SDCC 2014: Fairytale Remix Panel

| July 26, 2014

Shannon Hale (Ever After High series) moderated the Fairytale Remix panel on Thursday 7/24/2014, featuring Cornelia Funke (Mirrorwold series), Marissa Meyer (Lunar Chronicles), Ben Tripp (The Accidental Highwayman), Danielle Page (Dorothy Must Die), Tony DiTerlizzi (The Search for WondLa), and Katherine Harbour (Thorn Jack), during which they discussed the differences between ancient, traditional, and modern […]

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore (2012) by Robin Sloan

| July 22, 2014

Mr Penumbra

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore is modern-day quest by Robin Sloan, full of nerdery, humor, and heart. It’s feels a bit like reading a live-action video game, which is fun, but with the unfortunate side effect that not all characters are fully developed beings, rather cyphers for whoever the protagonist needs them to be.

Bookworms: The Empire Striketh Back (2014) by Ian Doescher

| July 15, 2014

The Empire Striketh Back

In all, William Shakespeare’s The Empire Striketh Back is another solid work of literary art and wonder. I absolutely love that Ian Doescher has taken the time and the immeasurable effort to give the world this book which might otherwise never exist. Fans of Star Wars and Shakespeare will find much to love and enjoy. And! The best part is that it is not over. The third book of the trilogy, The Jedi Doth Return, is set to be released on July 1, 2014. I cannot wait.