Bookworms: Mistborn (2006) by Brandon Sanderson

| September 9, 2014

Mistborn_BrandonSanderson

if you haven’t heard of Brandon Sanderson, or you have but haven’t picked up any of his books, do yourself a favor and start with Mistborn. It’s the beginning of a trilogy (with another trilogy following it), the magic system is fantastically unique, and his writing will keep you turning the pages. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Bookworms: Depth Charging Ice Planet Goth (2013) by A. Bergen

| September 4, 2014

Depth Charging Ice Planet Goth

Depth Charging Ice Planet Goth walks a fine line between a traditional coming-of-age story and surreal fantasy. Bergen draws in the reader with a protagonist that fosters compassion and identification, then flips the switch and drags the reader into a swirling nest of emotions. The mystery behind Mina’s life emerges, adding another layer to the story. As we learn more about Mina and her emotional health, the book becomes harder and harder to put down.

Bookworms: The Jedi Doth Return (2014) by Ian Doescher

| August 19, 2014

Jedi Doth Return

Brilliant iambic pentameter marks the way of the Star Wars Shakespeare saga. To Star Wars fanatics the story is familiar, to Shakespeare lovers the phrasing is familiar, but to both there is a newness and a richness that only Doescher can provide.

Bookworms: The Name of the Star (2012) by Maureen Johnson

| August 12, 2014

NameOfTheStar_MaureenJohnson

Maureen Johnson’s The Name of the Star is a YA thriller sure to please any fan of horror and the paranormal, adults included. Readers with an appreciation for Jack the Ripper (the lore, not his handiwork) will be even more pleased, as Johnson draws on London’s most notorious serial killer for inspiration.

SDCC 2014: Fairytale Remix Panel

| July 26, 2014

Shannon Hale (Ever After High series) moderated the Fairytale Remix panel on Thursday 7/24/2014, featuring Cornelia Funke (Mirrorwold series), Marissa Meyer (Lunar Chronicles), Ben Tripp (The Accidental Highwayman), Danielle Page (Dorothy Must Die), Tony DiTerlizzi (The Search for WondLa), and Katherine Harbour (Thorn Jack), during which they discussed the differences between ancient, traditional, and modern […]

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore (2012) by Robin Sloan

| July 22, 2014

Mr Penumbra

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore is modern-day quest by Robin Sloan, full of nerdery, humor, and heart. It’s feels a bit like reading a live-action video game, which is fun, but with the unfortunate side effect that not all characters are fully developed beings, rather cyphers for whoever the protagonist needs them to be.

Bookworms: The Empire Striketh Back (2014) by Ian Doescher

| July 15, 2014

The Empire Striketh Back

In all, William Shakespeare’s The Empire Striketh Back is another solid work of literary art and wonder. I absolutely love that Ian Doescher has taken the time and the immeasurable effort to give the world this book which might otherwise never exist. Fans of Star Wars and Shakespeare will find much to love and enjoy. And! The best part is that it is not over. The third book of the trilogy, The Jedi Doth Return, is set to be released on July 1, 2014. I cannot wait.

2014 Wizard World Philadelphia Comic Con

| June 28, 2014

WWPCC

It’s that time of year again, where the fans of different genres gather together to share experiences, meet up with friends, and to buy all the merchandise they can carry that day. The 2014 Wizard World Philadelphia Comic Con took place June 19-22 at the Pennsylvania Convention Center. This year, I was accompanied by my […]

Bookworms: The Battle Royale Slam Book

| June 25, 2014

BattleRoyale-SlamBook

Battle Royale has been hailed as one of most moving and unique pieces of science fiction literature in modern history. Written by Koushun Takami in 1999, the story follows 42 Japanese junior high school students as they are forced to kill each other on a remote island by their government. Takami’s kill-or-be-killed novel sparked controversy […]

Bookworms: King of the Weeds (2014) by Spillane & Collins

| June 17, 2014

King of the Weeds

What do a convicted serial killer about to be released because of new evidence, a hit man, a run of ‘accidental’ NYPD deaths and $89 million in Mafia money have in common? Mike Hammer is going to find out in his final novel, King of the Weeds.

Bookworms: Point Your Face At This (2011) by Demetri Martin

| June 13, 2014

Point Your Face At This

A series of funny drawings, diagrams, lists and charts from comedian Demetri Martin. There are much worse places to point your face.

Bookworms: The Star Wars Trilogy

| June 9, 2014

Star Wars Trilogy

The novelizations of the Star Wars Trilogy capture the magic and the wonder that is Star Wars in book form.