SDCC 2014: Fairytale Remix Panel

| July 26, 2014

Shannon Hale (Ever After High series) moderated the Fairytale Remix panel on Thursday 7/24/2014, featuring Cornelia Funke (Mirrorwold series), Marissa Meyer (Lunar Chronicles), Ben Tripp (The Accidental Highwayman), Danielle Page (Dorothy Must Die), Tony DiTerlizzi (The Search for WondLa), and Katherine Harbour (Thorn Jack), during which they discussed the differences between ancient, traditional, and modern […]

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore (2012) by Robin Sloan

| July 22, 2014

Mr Penumbra

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore is modern-day quest by Robin Sloan, full of nerdery, humor, and heart. It’s feels a bit like reading a live-action video game, which is fun, but with the unfortunate side effect that not all characters are fully developed beings, rather cyphers for whoever the protagonist needs them to be.

Bookworms: The Empire Striketh Back (2014) by Ian Doescher

| July 15, 2014

The Empire Striketh Back

In all, William Shakespeare’s The Empire Striketh Back is another solid work of literary art and wonder. I absolutely love that Ian Doescher has taken the time and the immeasurable effort to give the world this book which might otherwise never exist. Fans of Star Wars and Shakespeare will find much to love and enjoy. And! The best part is that it is not over. The third book of the trilogy, The Jedi Doth Return, is set to be released on July 1, 2014. I cannot wait.

2014 Wizard World Philadelphia Comic Con

| June 28, 2014

WWPCC

It’s that time of year again, where the fans of different genres gather together to share experiences, meet up with friends, and to buy all the merchandise they can carry that day. The 2014 Wizard World Philadelphia Comic Con took place June 19-22 at the Pennsylvania Convention Center. This year, I was accompanied by my […]

Bookworms: The Battle Royale Slam Book

| June 25, 2014

BattleRoyale-SlamBook

Battle Royale has been hailed as one of most moving and unique pieces of science fiction literature in modern history. Written by Koushun Takami in 1999, the story follows 42 Japanese junior high school students as they are forced to kill each other on a remote island by their government. Takami’s kill-or-be-killed novel sparked controversy […]

Bookworms: King of the Weeds (2014) by Spillane & Collins

| June 17, 2014

King of the Weeds

What do a convicted serial killer about to be released because of new evidence, a hit man, a run of ‘accidental’ NYPD deaths and $89 million in Mafia money have in common? Mike Hammer is going to find out in his final novel, King of the Weeds.

Bookworms: Point Your Face At This (2011) by Demetri Martin

| June 13, 2014

Point Your Face At This

A series of funny drawings, diagrams, lists and charts from comedian Demetri Martin. There are much worse places to point your face.

Bookworms: The Star Wars Trilogy

| June 9, 2014

Star Wars Trilogy

The novelizations of the Star Wars Trilogy capture the magic and the wonder that is Star Wars in book form.

Bookworms: This is a Book (2011) by Demetri Martin

| June 3, 2014

This is a Book

Demetri Martin attempts to bring his comedy style into a book with very good results. There’s no great depth to This is a Book, but something most people will enjoy for a few hours. Definitely worth a look if you’re a fan.

Interview with Joe Abercrombie – On Being Adapted To Comics

| May 30, 2014

firstlawcover

David here, Nerdspanners! Joe Abercrombie is one of the decade’s most outstanding fantasy writers. Robert and I have both been captive devotees since The Blade Itself, the first of his award-winning initial series First Law Trilogy, hit shelves in 2006. Since then, his second-world fantasy setting has been the star of six books and a […]

Review: Fangirl (2013) by Rainbow Rowell

| April 22, 2014

Fangirl cover

Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell’s third novel, is chock full of the great characters and witty dialogue readers have come to expect from Rowell, all while delving into a fictional world within a fictional world. It’s imaginative, great fun, and well worth a read (or two or three).

Mark Morris’s Noah: Vegetarians, Giants, and the Hollywood Revival

| April 9, 2014

20140410-001030.jpg

After decades of turning away from The Ten Commandments and The Greatest Story Ever Told, Hollywood is having a good old fashioned revival in 2014, with numerous biblical and faith-oriented movies both in the theatre now and upcoming. The most successful this year so far is Noah, which definitely isn’t grounded in your great grandmother’s […]