Image

About Phil Redbeard

The Redbeard, Phil Martin to the outside world, is a lifelong nerd. Phil Redbeard is known for his encyclopedic knowledge of Star Wars and an unshakeable love of all things science fiction. In addition to writing for NerdSpan.com, Phil Redbeard maintains a personal blog at philredbeard.wordpress.com. Follow his Twitter @PhilRedbeard. He currently lives in Dallas, Texas where he teaches English to Korean learners.
Latest Posts | By Phil Redbeard

Off Rock (2017) by Kieran Shea [Book Review]

By  •  Books
Off Rock

Take a heist. Put it in space and you’ve got a pulp sci-fi tale just waiting to be told and that is Off Rock.

Warcraft (2016) by Christie Golden (Book Review)

Warcraft

Orcs flee a dying world and men find that their hard won tranquility is being threatened by a foe none has ever heard of before.

Batman Arkham Knight (2015) by Marv Wolfman [Book Review]
2 years ago

Batman Arkham Knight (2015) by Marv Wolfman [Book Review]

By  •  Books

Batman tries to thwart the plans of the criminal Scarecrow, all the while being haunted by the influence of a dead Joker and being dogged by a new villain, the armored Arkham Knight.

Bookworms: The Martian (2014) by Andy Weir
2 years ago

Bookworms: The Martian (2014) by Andy Weir

By  •  Books
The Martian

While the rest of his crew mates rocketed into Mars orbit, he lay bleeding and unconscious in the rust colored dust. And when he woke up, Mark Watney found that he was the only remaining inhabitant of Mars.

Bookworms: Dueling Neurosurgeons (2014) by Sam Kean

By  •  Books
Dueling Neurosurgeons

The human brain is a fascinating, seldom understood organ of enormous complexity. Sometimes it teaches us the most when it goes wrong, whether due to illness or injury.

Bookworms: Magnificent Desolation (2009) by Buzz Aldrin

By  •  Books
Magnificent Desolation

NASA trained him to be an astronaut. They didn’t train the astronaut to be a hero. Inside, a dark secret lay, waiting to destroy the hero and disgrace the astronaut.

Bookworms: Retcontinuum (2014) by S. Grulkowski (+Interview)

By  •  Books
Retcontinuum

Retcontinuum pulls you down the rabbit hole of its narrative and doesn’t let go until it has finished explaining to you just how precious time is, and how ultimately the decisions we make are the most important things we have, no matter how much time we think we have.

Bookworms: The Memory Thieves (14) by Robertson (Interview)

By  •  Books
TheMemoryThieves

Combining old school noir with the best of magical realism, J.T. Robertson gives his readers a tight, gritty crime novella about a man on the edge willing to do anything to get free.

Bookworms: Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH (’71) by O’Brien

By  •  Books
Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIHM

Inspired by the work of a real scientist, Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIHM is a fantastical piece of juvenile fiction about a little mouse and her connection to a society of highly intelligent rats.

Bookworms: Shoeless Joe (1982) by W.P. Kinsella

By  •  Books
Shoeless Joe

Shoeless Joe is the magical story of an Iowa farmer, who based on ghostly direction, builds a baseball diamond in the middle of his cornfield.

Bookworms: The Jedi Doth Return (2014) by Ian Doescher

By  •  Books
Jedi Doth Return

Brilliant iambic pentameter marks the way of the Star Wars Shakespeare saga. To Star Wars fanatics the story is familiar, to Shakespeare lovers the phrasing is familiar, but to both there is a newness and a richness that only Doescher can provide.

Bookworms: The Empire Striketh Back (2014) by Ian Doescher

By  •  Books
The Empire Striketh Back

In all, William Shakespeare’s The Empire Striketh Back is another solid work of literary art and wonder. I absolutely love that Ian Doescher has taken the time and the immeasurable effort to give the world this book which might otherwise never exist. Fans of Star Wars and Shakespeare will find much to love and enjoy. And! The best part is that it is not over. The third book of the trilogy, The Jedi Doth Return, is set to be released on July 1, 2014. I cannot wait.

Top